Anyone have any photography or camera questions?

420,049 Views | 3566 Replies | Last: 1 mo ago by Bregxit
Drake aTm
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Guitarsoup said:

Christmas presents are probably already bought, but if you have any questions, fire away.

Not sure if asked, but what are your thoughts on recording/photography with drones?

I'm new to the entire thing and thinking about investing in the new dji mavic pro.
Guitarsoup
AG
Drake aTm said:

Guitarsoup said:

Christmas presents are probably already bought, but if you have any questions, fire away.

Not sure if asked, but what are your thoughts on recording/photography with drones?

I'm new to the entire thing and thinking about investing in the new dji mavic pro.
I haven't gone down that rabbit hole yet, so I wouldn't be a great person to ask.

DJI just bought Hassleblad, so I would bet some nice innovations are on the horizon.
FTAG 2000
AG
Drake aTm said:

Guitarsoup said:

I've been flying the Mavic for about three months now, it's been around the world and back (Mo'orea, Bora Bora, New Zealand, Australia). Mavic is strong, it depends on what you want to do.

If you're looking for recreational or light pro work (i.e., real estate), it will work for you. If you're wanting to shoot pro level video/photo, you'd really need to go to the Inspire platform for that.

I've flown the Mavic in 25 mph winds and it handled that, so no worries there. Battery life is also good on these, I've pushed 30 minutes on a calm day, down around 20-22 in windy conditions.

The other thing that has thrown some folks is that it has a manual auto-focus on the camera. If you don't refocus, footage can come out blurry. DJI has added auto-focus recently but you still get better results periodically adjusting manually. Meanwhile, the P3 Pro and P4 both have an auto-focus capability in the cameras that I think is superior to that of the Mavic, so keep that in mind.