Attention Coders: Potential career changer looking for advice

5,535 Views | 92 Replies | Last: 9 yr ago by AGSPORTSFAN07
Jackass2004
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Please dont get into programming, the career sucks and the pay is lousy for the years and years of effort to master your craft. If you like ceilings of 150k or so, then perhaps it's for you.
Rodney Dean
AG
Did this jackass not read that I am a teacher? Does anyone below superintendent make more than 150K?

Or was this more nerdery sarcasm?

Oh, and it's been established that money isn't a reason to enter the field. Right?
Sentinel
AG
Ignore him. He's probably a disgruntled programmer.
TexasRebel
AG
Seems like a Jackass to me.
permabull
AG
lb3
AG
Rex Racer
AG
Another good resource is MIT OpenCourseWare. I know of a guy who basically "went to school" using it. He dedicated 5 years of his life to going through those courses, and now he makes in the half a million dollar per year range doing consulting and teaching courses to other developers. He's pretty much a genius, though.
AGSPORTSFAN07
AG
Xcode!
Rodney Dean
AG
I had a conversation with a friend who's a Rubyist, the language I was thinking of starting with. He advised to look at Javascript as well due to demand.

I could look at something like SQL, but if I've never coded, it seems something like Ruby is a better place to start. More to think about.
MSCAg
AG
I think you should also think about where you want to work and what you want to do. Then look at those kind of companies and industries and see what you want to do.

I will say, while they might not ask for it, I think you definitely want to have some familiarity with SQL and database type programming.

That said, you probably should be prepared for a salary decrease from teaching. You are going up against people with degrees and experience. You definitely need to learn and then create some programs. Definitely have a website about you where you show off some of your code.