Job Network
Sponsored by

Transitioning to tech

836 Views | 6 Replies | Last: 1 mo ago by infinity ag
doback
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I'm trying to leave my industry and to go into tech(coding, dev ops) what's the best route for me? Have a bachelors in BA, 6 years of work experience
infinity ag
doback said:

I'm trying to leave my industry and to go into tech(coding, dev ops) what's the best route for me? Have a bachelors in BA, 6 years of work experience

Do you enjoy programming? Do you know any programming language? Any software experience?

The market is a bit tight right now with all the layoffs so it may take some time even if you have the above. Usually getting into tech is best through QA (Quality Assurance) jobs. You can take a quick course somewhere and get in. My wife did that and she is now a project manager through incremental jumps.
doback
Any links for courses? I have no experience, so I'm open to anything
BadMoonRisin
AG
what's your current industry?
infinity ag
doback said:

I would not recommend programming if you don't have any experience or know what it entails. I think QA is the way to go to get your feet in the door.
As for course, I would not do online courses. Search for career ed courses in your area and spend the money to do that. My wife paid $800 in 2014. It may more more now but worth the effort.
AustinAg2K
I think there is enough free stuff out there that you don't need to spend any money on courses to learn to program. YouTube has tons of great stuff. Some boot camps offer staffing services once you graduate, which is really the only reason to pay for one. Otherwise, just use YouTube and blogs. For someone who is self motivated, there is more than enough free stuff out there.