Job Network
Sponsored by

Post-interview Questions (Long)

2,834 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by 96AgGrad
dabo man
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Howdy, I am in the middle of hopefully landing a new job and would appreciate advice.

A little background...
This is an IT position with the U of Missouri. I've lived in Columbia since late 2013. I have about 25 years of experience in IT.

I had a Zoom interview for this position on May 11. It went well, and I sent a thank you to the hiring manager shortly after it. I didn't have contact information for the other two people who were on that meeting (why I emailed only the h.m.). On May 19, I heard back from the h.m. that he was going to want me to interview in-person but that, because of pending vacations, it would be June before that could happen.

I had my in-person interview on June 8. It also went well. It was the same people I'd had my Zoom interview with plus one more. Afterwards, they took me to lunch, and during that lunch, I learned that the guy who hadn't been on the Zoom interview was paying for the lunch out of his own pocket, because he wanted to make sure that he'd be able to work with me "if we were to hire you."

The lunch went *very* well (and least from my point of view). The guy who wanted to get to know me turned out to be a big baseball fan, and so am I. Then it turned out that we were are both big college baseball fans (he'd gone to Vanderbilt)... pretty cool as that's a fairly unusual interest of mine. At the end of the lunch, the hiring manager told me that I could be hearing from him "as soon as early next week." I sent another thank you to the h.m. when I got home.

So here we are at Wednesday, and I've not heard anything. I'm not going to email the guy today, but at what point do I consider it? What would I say in that email?

I'm quite anxious about this as:
1) This job looks to be an outstanding fit for my interests and skillset