Job Network
Sponsored by

Resume Opinions

2,919 Views | 15 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Ulrich
OldSoully
How long do you want to ignore this user?
After securing a first full time job, what are some of the adjustments that need to be made to a resume? Essentially transitioning from the resume of a college student to a young professional with applicable experience? Any tips would be great!
BeastmodeAg
AG
Get James Shelly to professionally write it for you.
The mans a genius.

Some tips are to get rid of anything that's high school related, also make sure your resume doesn't make you out to be a jack of all trades.. back your resume up with numbers.
Synopsis
I'm a long-time writer and I looked up this Shelly guy. It appears like he knows his Ps and Qs. Well worth a little money to invest in someone like him. And no, I'm NOT him nor do I know the guy.
78bc3
AG
dont just tell what you did; help them see the business reason why you did it and show results or impact. Also showcase technical skills. http://www.aggienetwork.com/careers/resumewriting.aspx
Paul Pausky BC3 '78
ktownag08
AG
Continue to keep it to one page!

Avoid filler sentences.

Don't put in your job description, put in accomplishments. Pet peeve of mine.

Nothing against Mr.Shelley and others, but I've never used a professional resume service and haven't had any issues getting a good job with my resume so don't feel like it's a must. Use your network, a mentor, and peers to get feedback.
Ragoo
AG
How do you keep it to one page with frequently changing roles and responsibilities?