Job Network
Sponsored by

Coding Boot Camps?

10,884 Views | 41 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by aaronag02
shertown04
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I have read they are extremely time intensive (12 hour days/ 6 days per week) and expensive ($12k-$20k). Has anybody been through one? Are they worth it? Does anyone on here work at a company that hires from those places?

I was a semiconductor test engineer for 10 years but was laid off 6 months ago so I have programming experience in a few different languages. Having a tough time finding another job in that field so I thought about doing something radical and jumping into one but it's a heckuva commitment in time and money and a guarantee that I won't have a job for at least another 6 months. Severance covered most of my expenses until now but costs have went up exponentially since the insurance ran out.
aggiedata
AG
hi shertown04,

Does any of this fit your background currently?

• 2 - 5 years development experience in MS SQL Server / Transact-SQL, Microsoft .Net, C#, and either ASP.Net or MVC.
  • Would prefer that candidates have experience in Visual Studio, Team Foundation Server, JavaScript and jQuery. Relevant client-server development experience is also preferred.
shertown04
AG
No. Most of the coding we did at my previous job was some C (several years ago), a custom VB for test, and Perl scripting. I started digging into some Python on my own recently. That's why I was asking if the boot camps are worth it so I can get into JavaScript, SQL, etc. Without a certification or anything at the end I was just curious how companies look at the people that go to them.
dagger
AG
I'm not a coder or programmer but I follow this guy on YouTube (Engineered Truth). He does a lot of career videos and has a lot of videos regarding some of the coding orgs...He did the Boot Camp last fall at DEVMOUNTAIN...and I think he is supposed to be teaching at their boot camp they're starting in Dallas.