Job Network
Sponsored by

Alternative career options for a Civil Engineer

6,916 Views | 13 Replies | Last: 13 yr ago by anscag07
Rocag
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I graduated in December 2006 with a BS in civil engineering and have been working in land development and transportation ever since. Unfortunately this field has been hit pretty hard in the last few years and I've gone through a series of layoffs from companies struggling to get enough work to keep them going. I have letters of recommendation from several of them that confirm that. I am unemployed again and am looking to get into another line of work that might be a little more secure. With my education and work experience what do you guys think my best options might be?

I am primarily looking for work in the Dallas area or perhaps east Texas. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.
nick_t
Oil and Gas in Houston.

Look at all the EPIC, equipment manufacturing, and drilling companies in Houston. You could find work as a project engineer, design engineer, geotechnical engineer (if you've done land development), or field engineer.

If you want work, look there.

[This message has been edited by nick_t (edited 8/17/2011 9:27a).]
Rocag
AG
Yeah oil and gas is what I've been told by others too. I've sent out some applications for that so hopefully it will pan out.
BBDP
AG
Are you a PE yet? Have you started the process. I would finish that.

If you move to O&G, you will probably not need/get your PE. That is not a big deal but would limit you from getting back into general Civil when/if that market falls or from getting it in the future.

There is a lot of O&G in east Texas but you probably need some experience in H-town first.

Also, O&G is a pretty conservative group.
FYI

Good luck.
tony
AG
might want to look into municipalities. Much steadier work there

http://tml.associationcareernetwork.com/JobSeeker/Jobs.aspx?abbr=TML
tony
AG