Top 7-10% rules great for neighbor state universities.

29,211 Views | 124 Replies | Last: 8 mo ago by GoAgs92
GoAgs92
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I've noticed a trend among my friends, if their kid cannot get into A&M or UT via auto admit, they end up at OU, Ark, Ole Miss.

Mostly OU...I was stunned by how many are going up there.

The auto admit rules in TX are basically making good students pick between second tier TX schools or the top tier school in a neighboring state OU, Arky, etc....

With decent scores and grades the OOS school cost the same as in state in TX. Which is more prestigious, good social life, and networking OU or North Texas/Tech/Texas State etc? seems like a no brainer to me.

b0ridi
As Texas grows and UT/A&M continue to have a limited number of seats, the problem will grow. However, there are several good public schools between the UT/A&M tier and the Tech/TX State party-degree tier. UH and UTD come to mind.
Temple Ag
I graduated from aTm twice. My daughter is going to aTm in the fall. I agree the 6%/10% is hurting the state retain talent. My in state school rankings are:

tu
aTm

UTD
Tceh
UH
OUT OF STATE SCHOOLS

UNT
UTA

VD schools:
Texas St.
SFA
Sam

TriAg2010
AG
It's not a new trend. This has been going on since at least the early/mid-2000s.

I fail to see this as a problem. For kids in the 10-25% percent of their class, I agree with the characterization that they as "good" students not "great" students. OU or Ark are appropriate academic fits. It seems like the vast majority all come back and settle in TX, so it's not like it's causing a brain drain in any practical sense.
BoDog
AG
TriAg2010 said:

It's not a new trend. This has been going on since at least the early/mid-2000s.