Transferring Law Schools

2,269 Views | 7 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by Kevin83
Saint Pablo
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Howdy! I am planning to go to law school next fall. I just got into my safety school and am unsure if I will get into the school I desire to attend or not, my LSAT score was strong, but my undergraduate GPA was not great. If I don't end up getting into my desired school, I plan to attempt to transfer from my safety school into the school I'd like to go to.

I was wondering if anyone here has done this and what that experience was like? It feels like a risk, but not a huge one. As a freshman in college, I transferred from TAMU-C to A&M and striving for that goal was a constant driver and extra source of motivation.
panag
AG
Depends on the law school. I graduated from a school that took very few transfers. I'd call the school and ask how many transfers they took the last few years. But above that I wouldn't go unless I was comfortable graduating from the safety school.
BoDog
AG
I know this is stating the obvious but really ask yourself if being a lawyer is what you want to do. I only say this because 3 of my 4 nearest friends are all lawyers (litigation and corporate) in their mid 40s and clearly do not like what they do.
panag
AG
BoDog said:

I know this is stating the obvious but really ask yourself if being a lawyer is what you want to do. I only say this because 3 of my 4 nearest friends are all lawyers (litigation and corporate) in their mid 40s and clearly do not like what they do.

Cannot emphasize this enough.
FredMc92
I had a friend who did her 1L at St Mary's 20 years ago. She and three other friends worked their asses off because they knew they wanted to transfer someplace better. Two of them were able to transfer to UT and the other two transferred to Baylor.

Again, my data is 20 years old, so take that into consideration.
Saint Pablo
Thank you to everyone who replied!