Suspended Student Reapplying to A&M

2,875 Views | 8 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by histag10
cab365
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I was a history student who's been academically dismissed (not suspended) for a year at College of Liberal Arts with just 18 credits away from graduation. I essentially failed a summer course which put me on probation the following semester. I failed to make up the grade points by just one letter grade that following semester and ended up with a 1.94 cumulative gpa. I can't reapply until after the year, and even then it's not guaranteed. What's worse is that if I did manage to get back in, I can't take the few remaining history courses to graduate because I'd have to change majors. The only other major I could realistically apply to is University Studies (Race, Gender, Ethnicity Studies) because I have 115 credits. That would take me at least three or four semesters. If I don't get accepted, then I have to transfer elsewhere and do at least another two or three years with a bunch of wasted credits of money.

I studied at A&M for two years and was so close to graduating. Now, I feel all of that was just wasted. I could've literally done NOTHING for those two years and would be in a better position than I am in now. I feel stuck, angry, and robbed. I don't know what to do.
ElephantRider
AG
Why do you feel stuck/angry/robbed? It sounds like you have only yourself to blame.
cab365
Yeah, you're right. It's the first time I've typed all of this out, and seeing it written brings perspective. I think I'm just more angry at the fact that the move to A&M actually made me worse off in my case.
histag10
AG
No judgement here, as I have a degree in history from A&M, but what made you transfer to A&M for history?

Edit- and why wont the history department let you back in?
cab365