Advice for my HS Freshman...

7,674 Views | 53 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by 94chem
NomadicAggie
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I graduated from A&M back in 98, and now I have a son who is starting high school this year and is already set on going to A&M for college. It's still a ways away, and who knows, maybe he'll change his mind, but for now he's all set on being an Aggie.

That being said, he has a clean slate right now. For those of you who have a son or daughter who have recently gone through the process, what would your advice be for putting my son in the best position possible for admission? I know top 10% is important, and he might be able to get there, but I'm not sure. Outside of making the best possible grades and ACT/SAT score, what other things should he focus on? Sports, service opportunities, etc.

I can't believe we're here already at this point, and I just want to help him as much as I can.

Thanks!
Prexys Moon
AG
my son is a junior now. wants to go to A&M, Aggie parents, ballgames, blah blah blah. After freshman year he was barely top 10 percent. After fall sophmore year he fell some more. He signed up for prepscholar- online SAT prep program. He took SAT in November and made 1220. Did prepscholar for 30-40 minutes every night, did their practice tests, took SAT in March and made 1330. Studies old tests for May test and made 1370. As long as he can stay top 25 percent, he will be auto admit.

Competition for top 10 percent is fierce at any high school. Lots of people (usually teachers kids) who know which teachers and classes to take and not take. Very easy to think you are doing well and working hard and get your rank and you're not top 10. My advice- do prepscholar- or similar program- and start prepping for SAT NOW. Prepping for SAT is also prepping for PSAT, btw. Get that 1360.

Obviously the goal should be top 10 percent...but at a lot of high schools that's really tough. Top 25 percent is a lot more doable.