The younger generations are struggling to achieve adult milestones

11,410 Views | 137 Replies | Last: 13 days ago by CampSkunk
Bocephus
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
AColunga07 said:

Ag_of_08 said:

Tom Fox said:

Ag_of_08 said:

I'm in my late 30s, but have friends that run through into their twenties.... not a single one of them cares about Instagram followers sans a couple that are using it as a side hustle.

They care about the fact that, even with a degree, a lot of them aren't even making it. I care about the fact I'm working a job that payed me what I considered an excellent wage 15yrs ago when I started is becoming an absolute dead end and only paying 5$ an hour more.... my only way out is starting over, and there's no way I can afford to do that.

I left my career making 130k at 38 and went to law school in 2012.

12 years later, I own my own business and make right at 7 figures. It is doable depending on you and your risk tolerance.

I have a useless degree(scratch that...i never finished and am not sure i can now) and no real way to change my circumstances. I truthfully don't know if i finished the thing there's anything I could really do. I know my field exceptionally well, it just doesn't pay unfortunately.

That's where a huge number of us stand unfortunately..... we effed up at 18-21, now there's no real comeback
At least you are honest about it and taking ownership rather than blaming the system.

That being said, I would like to see a way out for people to "make a comeback." If we are honest with ourselves, most of us weren't at our best during 18-21 and those years are so impactful to the rest of your life.

Meh. I was basically broke at 26. Got a gubmint job that does not require a degree. Will be able to retire at 50 if I choose to. A lot of it is about choices and sacrifices you make along the way.
TAMU ‘98 Ole Miss ‘21
HollywoodBQ
AG
Rattler12 said:

BlueTaze said: