Baltimore's Key Bridge collapsed after being hit by cargo ship

6,296 Views | 53 Replies | Last: 5 mo ago by LPHA
Swarely
How long do you want to ignore this user?
This is crazy. It went down like it was made of match sticks!

I'm not an engineer, but I think this is bad.

C@LAg
it'll buff out.
The Fife

Wanna get away?
Al Bula
AG
Frank Sobotka when he heard the news:

Bill Rawls says this happened on the wrong side of the bridge. McNulty is mad for sure.

JMac03
AG
HOLY moly. That is so sad. I wonder if there were any cars on the bridge

Edited, yes there was, as well as people working on the bridge.
JMac03
AG
Quote:

Maryland State Transportation secretary confirms contractors working on bridge at time of collapse

Maryland State Transportation Secretary Paul Wiedefeld told reporters there were workers on the Francis Scott Key Bridge at the time of its collapse.

"We know there were individuals on the bridge at the time of the collapse, working on the bridge, contractors for us," he said at a news conference Tuesday morning.

Wiedefeld said the workers were "basically doing some concrete deck repair," but said they did not know how many vehicles were involved.

He added that the transport authority has set up a facility for family members of those who were believed to be on the bridge at the time of its collapse.

Baltimore Fire Chief James Wallace says authorities have detected vehicles submerged in the water.
"Our sonar has detected the presence of vehicles submerged in the water," said Wallace at a news conference on the collapse of Francis Scott Key Bridge. "I don't have a count of that yet."

He said emergency services are using sonar, drones and infrared technology as a part of their search for people and vehicles who may have fallen from the Key Bridge into the Patapsco River.
Spicy McHaggis
AG
I think the next time I have to cross a major river, I'm going to choose to either caulk the wagon and float it or pay $5 to have a Native American help me.