excess credit hours rule

3,056 Views | 14 Replies | Last: 12 yr ago by chipotle
sharkenleo
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I'm gonna be going over 160 hours after this semester, which is the credit hour limit for my degree, so I'll have to pay out of state tuition which is amost $5000 more. There is no way in hell I can afford this, as my financial aid won't cover this. Really frustrating considering next semester will be my last.

Is there any way around this? I know they have an appeals system but they ask for evidence such as a death certificate or medical bills, neither of which I have. I did have one semester where I went through a pretty serious depression and thought seriously about dropping out. Ended up failing 3 out of 4 classes. If not for that semester I wouldn't be past the limit. Do I have a case here?
fido00
AG
don't know, but that does suck for you. I graduated with 172 hrs, which was a function of changing majors at 95 hrs.
sharkenleo
What sucks is my first semester was the first time the limit was 160. Used to be 175.
BBRex
AG
Do you have any documentation for the depression?
sharkenleo
No. It was not medical or due to chemical imbalance, it was due to personal issues I was going through at the time. Of course they won't believe me, but how do you prove something like that?
rcantu314
AG
Are you sure you will be penalized? I'm graduating this semester with over 180 hours and they didn't do anything to me. The thing is a lot of my hours were obtained before my high school diploma and all those are not taken into account in the rule.
rcantu314
AG
Oh my point is that there are certain limitations to the excess hour rule and that maybe you will be able to get away with it
Iamsocool
AG
Are any of them AP credit? If so you can challenge those as they do not count against the cap.
sharkenleo
Yes, I'm certain because I got the bill from sbs today.