Cross Country

2,213 Views | 9 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by SachseAg
94chem
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Dumb question, but I'm new to this...

Why does Texas A&M (apparently) choose not to be competitive at Cross Country? Does it take scholarships from T&F?

Thanks for any explanation.
Ed Marcinkiewicz
You have 12.6 scholarships for men's track and field and cross country. 18 scholarships are available for women. There are fewer college caliber female track athletes and they require a premium on scholarship money versus the guys. Our team is competitive within the SEC but the strongest cross country programs tend to be in the mountain region as well as the west coast and midwest where the fall weather is much more conducive to cross country. Our distance runners tend to do better on the track when the training conditions are better for our runners.
94chem
Thanks. I checked the women's times for the September meet, and they would have finished near the top at the 6A State Championship. Maybe they could have won it, but it would be close. I would have expected some separation.
halco87
I also wouldn't put too much stock in the September meet. The Arturo Barrios home meet this weekend with a bigger field and 6K/8K courses will be a much better indicator going into the championship portion of the season.
agAngeldad
Sprint teams win national track and field meets. We are a sprint team.
Ed Marcinkiewicz
Oregon was quite successful with a combination of middle distance, distance, and field event talent. National titles can be won many ways but it is much harder to train elite distance athletes in our climate. I also would not put too much emphasis on cross country times.
George Costanza
Comparing times using cross country meets is almost pointless. Every course is different and some are notoriously "short". The UIL course is a good example of that.
Sub4
AG