Story Poster
Texas A&M Football

Around Aggieland (8/14)

August 14, 2023

On Monday’s edition of TexAgs Radio, Kay Naegeli took us Around Aggieland and provided updates on all things A&M as summer is winding down as football season is just 19 days away. Over the weekend, Gary Blair was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Texas A&M Athletics Hall of Fame 2023 Class Highlighted by Eight Aggies
The Texas A&M Lettermen’s Association revealed the 2023 Athletics Hall of Fame Class will feature eight Aggies at the 45th Burgess Banquet on Sept. 15, 2023, in a Friday announcement.

The 2023 Class:

  • Shea Groom ’15 (Soccer)
  • Jerrod Kappler ’99 (Men’s Swimming & Diving)
  • Ashley Knoll ’07 (Women’s Golf)
  • Deon Lendore ’15 (Men’s Track & Field)
  • Jake Matthews ’13 (Football)
  • Kristie Smedsrud-Dock ’98 (Volleyball)
  • Jeneba Tarmoh ’12 (Women’s Track & Field) 
  • Michael Wacha ’13 (Baseball)

19 days until Fightin' Texas Aggie football!

Aggies in the NFL Preseason

  • Antonio Johnson led the Jaguars in tackles with eight tackles (five solo).
  • Isaiah Spiller had five carries for 27 yards and two receptions for 11 yards for the Chargers. He had a 71-yard touchdown called back.
  • Devon Achane had 104 total yards on 15 touches. 41 receiving yards, 25 rushing yards and 38 returning yards with the Dolphins.
  • Kellen Mond went 7-12 with 79 yards and one touchdown and also had three rushes for 16 yards with the Browns.
  • Jace Sternberger had one reception for 17 yards with the Colts.
  • Buddy Johnson had two tackles for the Bears.
  • Christian Kirk had two receptions for 12 yards and one touchdown for the Jaguars.

A&M has added another future Maroon Goon as 2024 Seattle (WA) O'Dea offensive lineman Isendre Ahfua‍ has given his verbal pledge to Jimbo Fisher and the Aggies. With Steve Addazio leading A&M's recruiting efforts, Ahfua becomes the fourth OL commit to join the class.

Women's basketball
Texas A&M women’s basketball legend Gary Blair was enshrined into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Saturday night at the Springfield Symphony Hall as part of the historic 2023 Class.

2023 Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame Class:

  • Gene Bess (Coach)
  • Gary Blair (Coach)
  • Pau Gasol (Player)
  • Becky Hammon (Player)
  • David Hixon (Coach)
  • Gene Keady (Coach)
  • Dirk Nowitzki (Player)
  • Tony Parker (Player)
  • Gregg Popovich (Coach)
  • Dwyane Wade (Player)
  • Jim Valvano (Contributor)
  • 1976 Women's Olympic Team

Four different Texas A&M goal scorers combined for a win over Texas State in an exhibition match on Friday night at Ellis Field, 4-0. With the preseason slate complete, the Aggies now turn their attention to the Aug. 17 season opener with Florida State.

The Jamie Morrison era will be on Wednesday, August 15 with the Maroon & White Scrimmage at 6:30 p.m. at Reed Arena.

Discussion from...

Around Aggieland (8/14)

1,474 Views | 0 Replies | Last: 11 mo ago by Kay Naegeli
There are not any replies to this post yet.
Page 1 of 1
subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.