Food & Spirits
Sponsored by

Sous Vide Chicken

1,246 Views | 12 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by Diggity
agcrock2005
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm new to this type of cooking. Have done steaks twice and they were awesome, but the chicken guidance threw me for a loop. I'm used to grilling/smoking until about 160 and letting the carryover cook get it up to safe while still being juicy and not drying out. These charts are saying 140-150 for the water bath. What do you all do?

I currently have 3 bone-in chicken breasts in 145 degree water and I was planning on 2 hours, then putting on the primo at about 500 degrees for a few minutes. Any advice (or what you like to do) would be appreciated. Thanks.
Max Power
AG
This might have what you're looking for.

https://www.seriouseats.com/2015/07/the-food-lab-complete-guide-to-sous-vide-chicken-breast.html
m.stat
AG
Seems strange but I season the chicken and follow the 2 hour bath at 140 then sear. Comes out perfect every time. Keeps it from ever getting stringy or dry.
KyleJ2012
AG
Do you sear after? Or just serve it straight from the sous vide?
Bulldog73
AG
Specifically with meats, I can't imagine not searing anything I sous vide.

Due to the time the meat is at the internal temperature, the chicken is pasteurized as opposed to the "instant" pasteurization that occurs at 165 (I think that's the temp, I'm too lazy to look it up this minute).
m.stat
AG
Definitely sear after
agcrock2005
AG
Well I don't know how the heck it works (meaning how it's safe) but it was the juiciest fully cooked chicken I've ever eaten. Thanks for the advice. Looking forward to trying some new recipes on this thing now.
Mule_lx
AG
Pasteurization is a function of time and temperature. One second at 165 or more time at 145. Remember 120 is scalding. 145 is pretty damned hot for a single cell organism.
Diggity
AG