Black Jack Pershing, Frank E. Vandiver, and the Buffalo Soldiers

1,290 Views | 4 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by WBBQ74
94chem
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I visited the Buffalo Soldiers Museum in Houston a few months ago. There's a little something for everyone there. One subject that I wanted to follow up on sort of relates to the trend in recent years of destroying Civil War-related artifacts such as statues, renaming schools, etc.

In the course of this debate, It's interesting to recognize that pieces of metal have a memory. For example, a statue of Robert E. Lee in Lexington, VA, erected in 1870 would have a very different meaning than a statue erected in Houston in 1920. The former could be to honor the great Virginian's legacy; the latter merely an affirmation of Jim Crow.

So, at the Buffalo Soldiers Museum, there's some good info about Gen. Pershing's advocacy for black soldiers, including their many contributions during WWI. Yet, when I studied US history in HS and college, we learned about Jackie Robinson, and how Truman integrated the armed forces...in 1948!

The problem is that when you read about WWI, and then you see the segregationist movements between WWI and WWII, you see that to some extent the rights being gained by blacks in WWII were rights they already had in WWI. This is where Gen. Pershing comes in. I know he would not have been the only expert, but as a man of honor and a great leader, he would have been keenly aware of the status of black soldiers in both world wars.

As I was pondering this history, I thought, "Wouldn't it be great if someone had interviewed Pershing on these issues? What would he have perceived about civil rights in the 1920's, and what could we learn today about our history?" Well, I had no idea that Frank Vandiver, former president of Texas A&M, actually wrote Black Jack: The Life and Times of John J. Pershing, which was a finalist for a National Book Award.