Enlisting Vs Officer Route

3,177 Views | 16 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by REMARCH11
Ag12texas
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Howdy y'all!

I am a graduate of TAMU and looking to see if I could receive insight and experiences from the enlisted and officer sides. I am open to both routes and just wanted to weigh the pros/cons of each.

Thank you very much!
Fly Army 97
You will get a mixed bag of responses here, some biased, some objective. You've got all ranks represented here from E-grade, O-grade, and Warrant Officer, parents too....all of which are of great value to our nation. I would recommend telling everyone (to the extent you are comfortable on the web) a little bit about your goals, interests, or motivating factors regarding onboarding.

If you want to know about flying helicopters either as an Officer or Warrant Officer, or you might be interested in crewing them as a crewchief (aka helicopter gunner outside the military)...there are plenty of us here.

Good luck.
45-70Ag
AG
I enlisted right after graduation, went to the ITB at Benning and my DS recommended me for OCS half way through.

My enlistment wasn't long before being commissioned but going in after college, my experience was you'll be older than most, more mature than most and mentally stronger than most.

Enlisting even for a brief time before being commissioned, if you can make it work isn't a bad idea. It provides a glimpse into the life of those you lead.

If you do enlist and go to Benning, enjoy the day your DS discovers you have a college degree when your pay stub is more than everyone else's. Fun times, but they'll respect you.

OCS was a combination of difficult and not too difficult. A total mixture of guys there ranging from high speed to can you pass the PT Test.
ArmyAg2002
AG