Military Linguists

23,963 Views | 63 Replies | Last: 7 mo ago by Talon2DSO
AggieEP
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I'm a current military linguist and it's been an absolutely fantastic career choice for me. For just a bit of background info, I graduated from A&M in '08 and had absolutely no idea what I wanted to do. I spent literally an entire year working a really pointless job while I researched what kind of options I had in order to start a career in the Intelligence Community. In 2010 I enlisted as a Cryptologic Language Analyst in the Air Force.

So the reason why I'm posting this is to provide a little bit of general information to any one else who has ever been interested in working an Intel job or learning a foreign language but not really known a good path to get into that type of work.

Here are the main pros of the job

- The pay is awesome, especially if you graduated as a Liberal Arts major like myself. My salary is comprised of many different parts that all add up to somewhere between 60-70k per year now that I'm in my 4th year in. (If you are single when you join your compensation will be slightly less and you will spend 1.5 years or more in dorms)

- You're going to learn a language that you otherwise would have no shot at learning on your own. I can't get into specifics of languages on an open forum but just watch the news and you'll have a good idea of what languages you have a chance of learning based on current hot spots. Additionally you get to learn that new language in Monterey, California which is one of the most beautiful places in the country. Meaning that if you enlist for 6 years about 1/3 of your enlistment will be spent as a student working M-F 8-4 hours in Monterey, California.

- You will get a TS/SCI clearance and you will work directly with the civilian Intelligence Community making the kind of contacts needed to make this a civilian career after your military career is over.