Air Force Medical Service Corps - Health Services Administrator

28,783 Views | 8 Replies | Last: 10 yr ago by redcrayon
Ryan the Temp
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Any of you know anything about the Health Services Administrator career field in the Air Force? With my ongoing effort to return to service via OTS, recruiting pitched the MSC option today as something to think about.

The qualifier is my Master of Public Administration degree. I have been working in municipal public works for the last nine years, and I was a SIGINT analyst when I was on active duty. I'm curious to see if there are opportunities in the Health Service Administrator field that could fit in with my governmental experience because this was something that wasn't even on my radar. When I think of the MSC, I think doctors, PAs, nurses, etc., not people like me.

Honestly, I'm not sure if it's a field I would like. What opportunities are there for growth and leadership as a junior officer? Are there opportunities for command or other leadership down the line? If it basically entails little more than running the front office at a clinic or scheduling the rotation for the ER, I'm not particularly sure I want to consider it.

The upside is that I would not have to compete for OTS or complete it, and I would direct commission probably as a 1Lt. The downside is it's not at the top of my list for things I want to do if I return to service.

[This message has been edited by Ryan the Temp (edited 12/16/2013 7:04p).]
Aggie1
AG
As noted in earlier response to your query, I retired from the AF as a 9016H Chief MSC Officer - Regular Air Force.
It is (was) the hospital administration specialty code number when I was on active duty.
It does not require OTS as it is a direct commissioning program into the Medical Services.
It is a career in the service that truly does have a civilian parallel.