Army JAG Interview

13,483 Views | 9 Replies | Last: 13 yr ago by HBCanine08
HBCanine08
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Howdy,

I am a second year law student and have an interview this month for an Army JAG internship for the summer of 2011. I was wondering if anyone on here has any advice for the interview. I applied last year as a first year law student, interviewed, but did not get the internship for this previous summer. I wish I could remember what the interviewer asked. Thanks for your input.

[This message has been edited by HBCanine08 (edited 9/1/2010 3:46p).]
CGSC Lobotomy
My advice?

PASS THE BAR
Fly Army 97
He is looking for the internship not the commission. Did I miss something?
HBCanine08
AG
Internship indeed. For next summer. They only take 75 second year law students. I am hoping I can be one of those 75.
Jock 07
AG
Don't **** it up
YWIA
AgLaw02
AG
I know the interview is for an internship, not for a commission, but treat it the same. Show that you are genuinely interested in the military. When they ask you why you are interested in the internship, your answer should be "military-focused." Being in the military is not just another job. If you say you are there because you are interested in having a government job, that's going to tell the interviewer you don't know what you're getting into. Talk about how you are looking for a chance to serve your country in a way that is more fulfilling than what you would find in a law firm. Or, if that isn't true in your case, say you want to observe a military legal office to see if it is a lifestyle that is right for you - something like that (assuming it is accurate for your situation).

My goals going into the interview would be to indicate that I am eager to work and that I understand the military is a unique profession that either a) I want to join, or b) I want to learn more about to see if I want to join.