Interruption during foundation pour

5,764 Views | 70 Replies | Last: 28 days ago by jokershady
lb3
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I've got a contract on a new build from a tract home builder. The post tension foundation pour was today and the ready-mix plant went offline and the pour was interrupted for two hours in the middle of the pour.

The concrete was firm when the pour resumed but it was still dark in color and could be easily scratched. I read that as long as you can still get a vibrator to penetrate your're still good. Well that would have been impossible.

Is this ok? If the answer is complicated, can this foundation be inspected? Or do I just need to eat the escrow and walk?
lb3
AG
Here is a short video of my wife poking the concrete prior to the pour resuming:
Bonfire97
AG
I wouldn't do it - but I am not a civil engineer. Maybe get an opinion from a civil engineering firm on this, but after looking at that video, I just don't see how you would have adequate integration with the first pour (where the rebar is).
lb3
AG
Thanks.

Anyone know any residential civil/structural engineers who could do an inspection in North Galveston County?
rilloaggie
AG
Did you have an engineer do your foundation design? If so, I'd get them in the loop and see what they recommend. If you did a geotechnical report they might be able to recommend someone also. Failing both of those options, Norex is in your neck of the woods and a good outfit.
lb3
AG
This isn't a custom home. It's a tract home from a regional builder. They have their engineer but he wouldn't be independent.
brotherbear
AG
Foundation engineer would definitely be independent of the builder. Ask builder to get stamped letter from engineer signing off on foundation.
lb3
AG
brotherbear said:

Foundation engineer would definitely be independent of the builder. Ask builder to get stamped letter from engineer signing off on foundation.