Created new wall and drywall isn't flush with existing wall

14,079 Views | 18 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by YellAg2004
FDXAg
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
So my FIL came over to help me extend an existing wall out in order to turn an open game room into an enclosed room with a door. I have no experience doing construction like this, but he's done it before.

Problem is after putting up the drywall, the new drywall is about 1/4" indented in from the existing wall. I was hoping for the new part of the wall to be exactly flush with the existing wall. We are at the stage where all the new drywall is up and screwed in and we've mudded the screw holes. Haven't touched the uneven joint yet where the new and old drywall meet.

Anyone have advice on possible options? I'm hoping at this point that maybe there is a way to gradually blend out this 1/4" difference somehow to where it's less noticeable than just an abrupt, uneven edge.
sts7049
AG
measure twice, cut once right?

maybe you could put up some kind of trim to cover it?
Esteban du Plantier
AG
I think I'd be scabbing quarter inch drywall over what you just installed.
AgEngineer72
AG
Isn't the edge of the new sheet of drywall beveled for a tape joint? I would expect it to be inset some just because of the joint bevel. A quarter inch seems a bit much but not all that unusual when you are matching new to old. You have to deal with the joint anyway so no big deal. I wouldn't think anything at all about what you described. Sounds like your FIL did well for you, keep going.
FDXAg
AG
No, the edge isn't beveled. It's a quarter inch indented all the way across the drywall.
Wodanaz
AG