My Road Trip Around Greece

3,422 Views | 16 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by Apache
et98
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
As I prepare for next summer's vacation, I realized that I never posted the write-up for last summer's trip to mainland Greece. So here goes

My wife and I took a 2-week road trip around the Peloponnesian Peninsula and then up into the mainland of Greece in July of 2018. I'm a history teacher, so keep that in mind as I rate the things we did. This is very (probably OVERLY) detailed, but I want to be as helpful to others as possible. Some of the pictures posted are mine, but some were stolen from Google because I suck at taking pictures. We mostly stayed in AirBnB's except for Olympia & Delphi where we stayed in hotels.

This is the route we took in case you're interested:

Things to understand about Greece:
EFFECTS OF THE FINANCIAL CRISIS - I learned A LOT talking to locals about its effects & what caused it. It was interesting how opinions differed between young & old, urban & rural, tourist towns & non-tourist towns. Many people lost everything, and jobs are scarce. Effects that we saw everywhere were:
* Unemployment - Not much homelessness...just idleness. Lots of people not at work, especially young people.
* Underemployment - Kind of nice for tourists, but not for the locals. Tour guides had Masters' Degrees in history. I saw only 1 teenager working somewhere that wasn't his parents' business. The average salary decreased by 40%, not including the jobs lost...just those that took a paycut.
* Abandoned buildings & abandoned construction projects everywhere outside of Athens
* Graffiti - Teenagers are pissed that there are no jobs, and they have a lot of time on their hands. Literally every government & abandoned building is heavily tagged, but most private property & ruins are clear.
* Parks are suffering - Greece has more, bigger, & nicer parks than anywhere I've ever seen. But cuts to funding have destroyed most of these parks.