A&M's history department

3,253 Views | 11 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by Twice an Aggie
Demosthenes81
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
A random fact that just crossed my desk. According to the Chronicle of Higher Education, A&M was tied for 3rd in 2017-18 among public institutions in the number of BAs awarded in History (162). We are tied with Cal State Long Beach and behind tu (2nd) and UCLA (1st). Among all schools, public and private only Southern New Hampshire had more so fourth over all.

Not bad for an Engineering school.
DrEvazanPhD
Mabel Choate said:

HollywoodBQ said:

Hopefully we include a Barista course as part of our curriculum to give them a leg up on the competition.
I'm a history major who makes 6 figures. The idea that liberal arts majors don't make any money is laughable. Sorry your parents made you get an engineering degree you didn't want, but some of us enjoyed college and make a nice living now.
So, i have a history degree as well. But i had to go to grad school too.
expresswrittenconsent
Typical HollywoodBQ
Bodie Broadus
I have heard nothing but great things about the program. Specifically post-Civil War US History. Would I be incorrect? I am curious as to which periods of history the program excels in.
Twice an Aggie
AG
I had a great experience with Early Modern Europe and Russian History while there...great professors. Also had some great Roman history classes.
terata
AG
I respect A&M's History Department. I wish they would offer Dr. Mark Mirabello a position on the faculty.
zannlaw
terata said:

I respect A&M's History Department. I wish they would offer Dr. Mark Mirabello a position on the faculty.
People may be cautious of a Prof that has been involved with Ancient Aliens and has a fan club.
Smeghead4761