Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Couple trail running gear questions

938 Views | 7 Replies | Last: 1 mo ago by trailrunner
oldarmy76
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Shoes - I've been running in la sportiva Bushido II for about 3-4 years with power step penacle inserts. I had previously run with cascadias. The pair I bought a couple months ago just doesn't fit as well as the previous ones. I'm thinking about buying a new pair but also looking for suggestions on a different shoe as well as some other insert options. I have an ongoing struggle with some plantar fasciitis that I manage to generally keep manageable.

Running poles - I've signed up for a 50k that has about 4K of climbing. Though not overwhelming, it's a lot more than I typically deal with on runs around here. I've gotten a lot of productive use from poles on previous backpacking trips and was looking for some suggestions from people that use them. Also would appreciate feedback on how useful people find them while running in mountains.

Thanks
Sponge
AG
A lot of personal preference for poles. I live in the mountains and am used to very steep grades but I rely on poles a lot for any kind of ultra. Have done a number of 50k that are about 4k vert. My knees aren't that great so I rely on poles equally for climbs, descents, and flats. It's best to do a long run with them to experiment.
AggieOO
can't help with the insert portion, but I also found that the newer Cascadias don't fit "right." I bought a new pair recently and they gave me terrible blisters. I've previously ran in La Sportiva Ultra Raptors. I liked those, but they feel like tanks. What I've been mostly running in for the past several years are the Nike Wildhorse. I absolutely loved one of the earlier versions. Then they moved to a different version that worked, but I didn't love it. The newest version, the Wildhorse 8 are great so hoping they stick with this version.