Potential move to Tyler questions! (Tyler Legacy HS and club soccer)

3,316 Views | 13 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by FightinTexasAggie28
smc05
How long do you want to ignore this user?
My husband is looking at taking a job in Tyler and I have a couple of questions. We really like the area that feeds into Tyler Legacy HS and we will have a 9th grader in the fall. I've seen mixed reviews. We currently live in the Dallas area and we are already planning on sending our kids to a big, diverse public high school. Anything I should know in particular? I feel like online information and ratings are not helpful. Our current zoned high school looks bad on a paper but is great in real life. I'd love to hear some real life recent takes on the school.

Also one of my kiddos plays club soccer. Does anyone have any tips on club soccer in Tyler? Does it get exhausting coming back to Dallas for games?

Thanks in advance!
Dro07
AG
Can't help you in any way since I graduated from Lee in 98 but welcome!

What kinda work are you moving into the area for?
smc05
Oil and gas
AGC
AG
Can't speak to Legacy as my kids don't and won't go there if I can help it.

Regarding club, yes, the driving can be exhausting. If soccer is what you want your kids to do plan on rearranging church frequently (if you go) and spending most Saturdays there to the exclusion of a lot of other stuff. If you have two kids and they aren't both there, well…I'm really curious to see how it turns out in 10 years for my friends with families of 3+.
smc05
Where do your kids go to school?
SoulSlaveAG2005
AG
Our kids go to St Gregory Catholic school, so no personal experience with Legacy. Our neighbor who is an Ag has had a couple kids graduate from there. Their oldest is a senior this year and they are really good kids. Probly more a product of being kids to Ags than the school, though.