Outdoors
Sponsored by

Grass ID?

1,398 Views | 13 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by Maroon Saloon
Log
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm good at most things outdoors, but grass ID is not one of them. I think this is native grass, but not sure. Land has been in our family for 120+ years. A lot of it was put in Bermuda in the 40's and 50's by my grandfather, so there's lots of it still around, but there is about 40 acres of our property nearby that is native prairie and was never broken. I've been seeing more and more of it over the last few years, some of which I can attribute to better environmental conditions (aka rain and no drought) and a reduced grazing pressure.

Anyway, some of y'all experts chime in. This is in Cooke County in the Blackland Prairie.

tamc91
AG
Can you get a good, hi res photo of the inflorescence (seed head) and do you know the soil type.
Caesar4
AG
I have no knowledge/experience in this area, but the app on my phone says it's Basin Wild Rye.
Log
AG
Blackland soil.
ShackelfordAg99
It looks like white tridens.
Funky Winkerbean
AG
I'm guessing Vaseygrass.
It is so easy to be wrong—and to persist in being wrong—when the costs of being wrong are paid by others.
Thomas Sowell
Log
AG
I think you nailed it. Thanks. Glad to know it's native. Hope it'll begin to outcompete the Bermuda at some point.
B-1 83
AG
White tridens. Should have an odor when the leaves are crushed. As natives go, it's not good. Invader on Bermuda if the Bermuda gets weak and/or disturbed.
Log
AG
I'll take native invader over Bermuda until at (hopefully) some point I'll be able to knock out the non-natives and try to re-establish what should be there.
B-1 83
AG
Log said:

I'll take native invader over Bermuda until at (hopefully) some point I'll be able to knock out the non-natives and try to re-establish what should be there.
How much are they grazing it?
ShackelfordAg99
Anyone else have the Dr. Stephan Hatch agrostology class back in the day?

ranchag04
AG