Outdoors
Sponsored by

Squeeze chute rental

11,140 Views | 23 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by jtp01
Spoony Love
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm new to this stuff and not sure if this is already out there. Does anyone rent a mobile squeeze chute to run less than a dozen cows through for vaccines and treatments? Or am I overthinking?
Blanco Jimenez
AG
If you're just going to vaccinate, you can do that in the chute with out the squeeze chute.
Spoony Love
AG
That's a good point.
GSS
Blanco Jimenez said:

If you're just going to vaccinate, you can do that in the chute with out the squeeze chute.
I would add "hopefully" to your plan...and worth a try.

Stressed cattle can do some extraordinary things, typically none of them good.
NRA Life
TSRA Life
milkman00
AG
Buy yourself a headgate. Up to you to decide if its worth choosing one you can add a squeeze chute to later on..

Remember, a good set of pens is cheaper than a trip to the ER.

BoerneGator
AG
f you're able to "squeeze", or crowd the cattle up into the chute, then put a pipe or post (or two) behind the last cow, that will confine them almost as good as a squeeze chute will. But, you'll need to work quickly, as they will shift, fall down, and climb over each other, depending upon their level of excitability. It doesn't cost any more to own gentle cattle, and gentleness is a heritable trait. Just sayin... Good luck!
Aggie Squared
AG
We give most if not all shots using just a head gate to keep the cows from shifting around too much when ear tagging and using needles. For pour on wormer, crowding method works fine.

Prefer the swinging door style head gate over the scissor style (Preifert).
Spoony Love
AG
I've thought about using just a head gate but with little/no experience what do I need to know. Squeeze chute seems to minimize risk but cows still do crazy things.
txrancher69
AG