Outdoors
Sponsored by

Duck Hunting Gear for a Beginner? (Waders and more)

6,178 Views | 28 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by FirefightAg
TheOC16
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm getting into waterfowl hunting this year (upland background). Been doing a lot of research and going to try to hunt as often as possible with some guys who have more experience than me.

In terms of gear, I was told the most important thing to get was waders. So I'm looking for recommendations.

My thought is that I'm buying at the wrong time of year (could probably get some good sales after the season), so I was thinking I'd go with a budget set this year to really learn what I'm looking for and what I like; then maybe purchase a more expensive option after the season for next year. Or should I go ahead and go all out on something I have no experience with?

I would think breathable would be the way to go here in Texas, and layer up underneath as needed.

Any recommendations?

Oh, and if you're bored, you're also welcome to give me decoy or other equipment recommendations while you're at it...

TIA!
el gato18
AG
Welcome to the greatest hobby around.

Breathable is good but depends on where you are hunting. If hunting timber or thicker brush I'd say neoprene. If hunting coastal or out of blinds breathables are good. I will usually hunt the first split with just camo pants as it is usually warm enough.

I always prefer stocking foot waders with booties to ensure good fitting shoes. I had a cheap pair of Hodgons neoprenes to start and really enjoyed them as they were durable. My breathable Simms finally got punctured by rose hedge last year and I had some cold wet hunts.

As for decoys they are pricey to get started, maybe check craigslist. Slowly build up if no luck there.

Best of luck!
ttha_aggie_09
AG
When you say Texas, where exactly do you mean?