Outdoors
Sponsored by

New to AR15 - Simple images to help

13,429 Views | 37 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by javajaws
LoudestWHOOP!
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I know most people already know about AR15, but I am new to them so I thought I would put up some images that helped me to understand some things about them.

AR15

AR15 Major Parts

Lower Major Parts

Lower Parts Kit

Buffer parts (go into Lower Receiver)

Pistol buffer with a "Blade" brace

Rifle and Carbine buffer tube and stocks

Upper Major parts

Upper diagram

Bolt Carrier parts

AR15 vs M16 Bolt

What are M4 ramps?

Ejection Angle

Barrel length and Gas length

Barrel length and Velocity

Barrel length and PSI

Barrel length with Muzzle velocity and muzzle energy

Barrel length with Pressure dwell and velocity

Direct impingement or piston?

Pistol vs Short Barrel Rifle (SBR) The SBR requires an ATF stamp

Pistol tube vs Pistol with a brace (Both are pistols)

That should be enough to get started with illustrations of many things discussed about AR15s
Post more if you have some
tlh3842
AG
Lots of solid information there. Good post.
aTm2004
AG
Well, this should be a sticky.
Eliminatus
AG
Good info!

I wouldn't consider myself a noob and still can't remember the lower parts kits names of all the parts. Also had never seen the ejection direction graph like that. Very useful to help diagnose issues.
DV04
Van Buren Boy
AG
Where's the shoulder thingy that goes up?
Tx-Ag2010
AG
Also left out the bullet button...
LoudestWHOOP!
AG
Tx-Ag2010 said:

Also left out the bullet button...
I thought this was TexAgs not CalAgs, but here...

Bullet Button - to release the mag with the aid of a tool or tip of a bullet
lb3
AG
LoudestWHOOP!
AG
Not a picture, but something I have wondered about Buffer tubes (found online)

Quote:

These measurements are from the rear face of the receiver, to the rear-most tip of the tubes...

Carbine Comm-spec. - 7 5/8"
Carbine Mil-spec. - 6 3/4"
A1/A2 - 9 5/8"