Outdoors
Sponsored by

Keeping crawfish alive overnight

36,583 Views | 28 Replies | Last: 8 yr ago by Tursiops93
dahouse
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Doing a boil on Sunday, just one sack. I know it's not likely that anyone will still have bugs in stock Sunday morning. What's the best way to keep them alive if I get them Saturday morning? My plan is to put a ice in the bottom of the cooler and cover with a towel, then place the unopened sack on top, then place another wet towel on top with some ice on that. Leave the drain hole open and keep a fan on them.

Or I can put the whole sack in my outside fridge.
Cody
Fightin Texas Aggie c/o 04
Willy Lee
AG
Your first plan will work just fine. I've done that many times. I've never tried putting in a fridge before...
Bob Sympkins
I always just cover them completely in ice and tilt the drain of the cooler downhill so the water drains off of them. I've keep them alive for over two days doing this.
Aggiehunter34
S
Just make sure you don't try this in a yeti. They will be a solid frozen block of ice.
JYDog90
AG
Don't close the lid, keep it vented.
Shelton98
AG
Fridge will work too.
MelvinUdall
What you suggested will work just fine, have done that numerous times in the past and never had an issue or a lot of dead ones.
BeardofZeus01
AG
ice chest method. you'll never fully get that stench out of the fridge ...
Dirty-8-thirty Ag
AG
Outdoor Life just put up a video yesterday on FB about keeping crawfish alive for 2-3 weeks in a storage container.

Step 1: Acquire a clear storage bin with a removable lid.

Step 2: Drill plenty holes in lid of storage container. This acts as a vent and a drain.

Step 3: Dump crawfish in container and add 2 inches of creek/lake water to bottom of bin. Throw in a few big pieces of lettuce off of a head of lettuce for food.

Step 4: When water begins to turn a dirty/murky color, flip on to lid. Water will drain, when empty add another 2 inches of creek water and more lettuce.