New home - single WiFi router or mesh?

3,291 Views | 61 Replies | Last: 13 days ago by YouBet
Naveronski
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
We recently purchased a new home so I'm looking at our broadband/wifi options.

Looks like the only provider offering 1Gbps is Spectrum via cable vs we're coming from ATT fiber.

Home is 1 story, ~2600 sq ft, built in 1979. Would like to cover whole home/driveway/back yard.

What's the best (and preferably economical) way to do this?
BadMoonRisin
AG
ill be looking to get one soon as well. I have an old ASUS AC68U from probably 10 years ago.

i have a lot of wifi 6 compatible devices now, so i figure im looking for an Netgear Orbis mesh system. I've heard eero is good, but they some how track your data? not sure im into that.
Astroag
AG
Mesh systems for sure…do a wired backhaul to all the nodes if possible.

If ya ain't cheatin, you ain't tryin!!!
degreedy
AG
I am by no means an expert, and don't know all the specifics on what does what, but in my amateur opinion, my family and I have had amazing success with the Eero wifi mesh system. Literally 10 different people I've recommended it to have had tremendous success as well.

EDIT: to add insight into our home & lot, we live on a half acre lot and have a 3,750 sqft home with 2 stories (really 3 if you include a basement), putting different components of the system throughout the home gives strong wifi strength throughout the entire property.
adamsbq06
AG
This is the way. Ubiquiti Dream Router Pro and UAPs
andy@andrewadamsav.com
Lathspell
AG
It's simply a wireless network with multiple wireless access points hardwired back to a controller of some kind. A wireless "mesh" is something completely different.

Being a stickler on semantics because you don't want to walk into a store saying you are looking to install a wireless "mesh" network.
YouBet
AG