General Engineering Student wants to Transfer into Mays?

2,864 Views | 7 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by NewOldAg
Smatson1989
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Howdy Ags! I am asking this question for my daughter ('23 general engineering). She applied to Computer Science and just received news that she was not accepted into that major (insert devastation here). She has a 3.3 and I understand that the cut off is way higher than that - that's not what I'm asking about. After much thought and discussion and visiting with an advisor, she believes that she would really enjoy MIS (which happens to be what my degree is in - so she knows a little about what that involves). However, based on the requirements to change majors into Mays (a 3.5 with less than 60 hours), she does not meet the requirements, and because of her AP and dual credit hours, she currently has 57 hours on her transcript. She was told by an advisor that she would be denied entrance into Mays but could appeal that decision, but also that "appeals are never accepted" (not even just "rarely", but "never"). She needs to make a decision ASAP so she can choose her classes for the Fall - but is unsure if it's worth it to go through the appeals process, if appeals are truly "never (or even rarely) accepted". I guess I'm looking for feedback from anyone that has gone through the appeals process - or anyone who has experience with this. What are her odds of getting into Mays?
SwissAgg
AG
I am certainly not an expert about transferring into Mays, but could she take a semester to focus on getting grades up and then transferring in?
Smatson1989
AG