Hardcore History by Dan Carlin - Question

1,498 Views | 27 Replies | Last: 12 days ago by Spore Ag
Legal Custodian
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Does anyone listen to Hardcore History? I have been listening for almost 7 years now and still can't get enough of it. I have listened to The Blueprint for Armageddon series on WWI at least 4-5 times now. Death Throes of the Republic and Prophets of Doom are another couple of my favorites on regular rotation.

But I bring this up to try to get other suggestions for history podcasts done in the same vein as Hardcore History. There are so many topics out there that I would love to listen to but don't know where to start and would rather not have to go through multiple podcasts and hearing people dryly drone on about a topic before stumbling on one that's good.

Thanks!
Josepi
AG
Love Hardcore History

Wrath of the Khans and Ghosts of the Ostfront were my favorites
Claude!
Mike Duncan's History of Rome was really great. I've heard good things about his Revolutions podcast as well, but haven't dipped into it yet.
JoCoAg09
AG
No first-hand help, but here's a Reddit Thread on this topic that might be helpful.
Aggie_Journalist
AG
Check out season 9 of Revolutions, from Mike Duncan. It's the story of the Mexican revolution, which is crazy as hell and brilliantly told. The story is brimming with fascinating characters, like Emilio Zapata and Pancho Villa. You even get some wild American interventions.

Highly recommend it.
Thanks and gig'em
Lt. Joe Bookman
AG
Supernova in the east 1-6 are free currently (probably due to Shogun?). They are really good.
Josepi
AG
A New History of Old Texas by Brandon Seale is good

Season 1 - The history of San Antonio including the Battle of the Alamo
Season 3 - Cabeza de Vaca - I couldn't stop listening to this. Absolutely fascinating

I couldn't stay focused on Season 2, and I haven't listened to season 4,5, or 6 so I can't comment on those.
Loved season 1 and 3 though.
jdgilberg
AG