How long do I keep a destructive houseguest?

5,089 Views | 36 Replies | Last: 3 days ago by PJYoung
Reality Check
How long do you want to ignore this user?
So I'm a social worker in Southern California and my wife, who just found out she's expecting our third kiddo, stays pretty busy with my teen daughter and elementary school-aged son.

A few years back, we ended up housing a -- well, I guess he's best described as a needy kid in his late teens though he's technically significantly older than that. Through a significant catastrophe in his life he was left with literally nobody in his life and nowhere to turn to. I found him in our garage and the choices were basically take him in or see him fend for himself in an environment completely foreign to him or -- worse -- be apprehended by the authorities and who knows what would happen to him once he gets bogged down in THAT system.

Things went smoothly at first. He seemed to bond with my son and that was great. But things quickly turned on a dime. First of all, he eats a TON. He's incredibly indiscriminate about what he grabs out of the fridge, out of the pantry, by calling for delivery, etc., etc. It's definitely been a HUGE impact on our family budget. He tries to help out from time-to-time, getting a paper route, odd jobs where he can go unnoticed, etc., but we're getting to the point that we're having to have some tough conversations with our daughter about what her college options are. You'd think with all of the work from home options available he could figure out some way to contribute over the long term, but he's not able to hold down a job.