Photo by Andrew Kilzer
Texas A&M Football

Can the latest Heisman winner defy history again?

December 12, 2012

Johnny Manziel surpassed Archie Manning. Could Archie Griffin be next?

Twice this season, Manziel broke Manning’s SEC single-game total offense record en route to becoming the first freshman Heisman Trophy recipient. Next season, Manziel could join Griffin as the only two-time Heisman winners.

Griffin, an Ohio State running back, won the Heisman in 1974 and ’75.

Manziel accumulated 4,600 yards of total offense and accounted for 43 touchdowns while leading Texas A&M to a 10-2 finish in its first season as a member of the Southeastern Conference.
Verify your student status
See Membership Benefits >