Grand strategy games. Where to start?

31,513 Views | 184 Replies | Last: 11 mo ago by bluefire579
Aggie1205
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Mare Nostrum is now out.
SPullig
So, Paradox Games releases Stellaris tomorrow. It looks like Europa Universalis based in space. I just pre-ordered through Steam. Anyone else picking it up?
JJxvi
AG
Is this gonna be more than a rehash of sins of a solar empire? One thing about eu and ck etc is that for those paradox has actual history too kind of hone the game into an interesting simulation.
BustUpAChiffarobe
AG
can anyone walk me through eu4? I just started playing and good lord it seems impossible.

I'm playing rise of the Ottomans as the Portuguese, and I never have any money, I'm at a immediate negative and none of the trade nodes give enough gold to push me positive. I take out loans to build barques and hammer the Seville trade node, but for some reason those barely seem to eke out a positive gold over their maintenance. I want to throw down vs Morocco but I've no money to build up my initial 13k army, and while I can normally gain a foothold in Tangiers, a mixed Moroccan and Tlemcan army shows up and pounds them whIle my Castilian allies refuse to join. Any advice for a new player?
JJxvi
AG
As Portugal, you basically need to sit tight max admin monarch points mothball your cogs lower army maintenance, and rush to your first idea, exploration. Portugal is a colonizing nation, very difficult if you're gonna try and fight in Africa right away. Portugal may start with an explorer at start as well, but it's been a few patches since I've played them.

You'll only really start making money when you have colonies pushing trade into Seville.
BustUpAChiffarobe
AG
quote: