Beginner golfer - what golf balls do you guys hit?

5,667 Views | 48 Replies | Last: 8 yr ago by Gil Renard
TX_Aggie37
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I just started playing regularly back in April and was just curious what ball you guys prefer to hit and why. I have hit mostly Pro V1x but am not really sure how much difference a ball can make with a beginner swing like mine (I can't really shape my shots or anything just yet). The Pro V1x's are pretty cheap (relative to brand new) off lostgolfballs.com but if I can knock $10 off a purchase then I'm all for it. Thanks in advance.
mongey donk
AG
the V1x is for faster swing speed and focuses on less spin. My guess is the Pro V1 is better suited for your game right now if you insist on using a Pro V1 ball. Usually Pro V1 = better control and consistency, Pro V1x = more distance and less spin.
Ag_07
AG
Not sure it makes a difference for beginners but I always used to use a mid priced ball that just felt good. Usually ended up hitting DT So/Lo or Noodles. They just seem to feel really solid and that always gave me an extra bit of confidence.
LHIOB
AG
Play what you find.
98Ag99Grad
AG
Good mid-priced ball like the Bridgestone E-series or Titleist NXT line. Will save about $20/dozen vs Pro V's.
TX_Aggie37
AG
quote:
Play what you find.
I've definitely been scavenging the trees and using balls I find there before anything else. Also occasionally keep a few range balls.
AggieT
AG
You steal range balls?
gougler08
AG
I play what I find and what I'm given on birthdays and Christmas...works just fine for me. I can't justify spending crazy money on a ball that will more than likely only last me a few holes
WHOOP!'91
AG
Nike PD. Long or Soft, whichever you prefer, were $10/dz at Academy last I checked.

Noodles are ~$1/ball, Easy Distance or Long & Soft.

Academy also had Pro V1x, 3 dz for $30 last I checked, so you might check that out too.

I like the Bridgestone e6, but they are more like $25/dz.