Friends that don't understand technology

6,432 Views | 44 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by txam92
m-walker
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Average Joe said:

I love telling people what "the cloud" actually is and watching their heads explode. It makes for great entertainment.

iceman08
AG
You make one pivot table and a calculated column and suddenly people think you're a wizard...
ABATTBQ11
AG
I told someone I could write macros. Now I'm a developer.
kb2001
AG
iceman08 said:

You make one pivot table and a calculated column and suddenly people think you're a wizard...
Pivot tables are truly wizardry
Vander
AG
kb2001 said:

iceman08 said:

Pivot tables are truly wizardry
They allow you to create tables and charts in 15 minutes what would take someone else literally weeks to do. I have no idea how people can function in a workplace without knowing how to use Excel with any sort of efficiency at all.
Vander
AG
Stat Monitor Repairman said:

Been struggling for the past decade with secretaries that can turn a 10 page native pdf doc into an 200MB monster file that bogs down the email system and is (rightfully) rejected by the clients email system.

They can't understand how to take a file from their email and save it or forward it on. They'll print a hard copy then turn right around and run it through the scanner at max resolution so they can save it on the network drive. They'll do this **** with 1 pagers or 500 pages doesn't matter to them.

Was hilarious watching them trying to send out massive files over email bogging down theirs and every recipient in the offices email.

I tried over the years to educate people on this with no success. Their eyes would glaze over wondering if someone had eaten the half jelly doughnut that was left in the break room.

After years of this **** the network storage gets maxed out and instead of fixing the human element which caused the problem and they pay some IT shlub thousands to come out install more storage.

nwspmp