Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Bond funds in a 401K

1,149 Views | 8 Replies | Last: 15 days ago by jamey
jamey
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Bond funds in a 401K should generate an income dividend, which would be reinvested of I've selected to reinvest gains which I have

I've been testing my Broad Market Bond Funs for several months now and the only number that changes in the price. The number of shares has stayed stagnant at some 865 shares seeing this period.

What gives, how does this work
Rydyn
AG
Look at your statement, find those Dividend payments, and look to see if they are changing the cash balance on the account.

You probably just don't have "reinvest" selected like you think you do.
OldArmyCT
AG
A lot of growth stocks don't pay dividends, so their funds don't either. And bond funds do pay dividends which can be reinvested, but bond prices fluctuate so it follows that bond fund share prices do too. 50 shares bought at $10@ that turns into 100 shares at $5@yields a net gain of zero. I have never put a single bond investment in either my 401-K or my IRA, I retired in 2018 and my IRA has doubled despite taking RMD's.
jamey
AG
Rydyn said:

Look at your statement, find those Dividend payments, and look to see if they are changing the cash balance on the account.

I double checked and what i have selected "says reinvest in my current plan" Vs "send to me"

I looked back further and I've had the same 865 shares for more than a quarter. The only thing changing the total value is the price
Harkrider 93
AG
jamey said:

Rydyn said:

I double checked and what i have selected "says reinvest in my current plan" Vs "send to me"

I looked back further and I've had the same 865 shares for more than a quarter. The only thing changing the total value is the price