Is the conf tourney the least interesting baseball event of the season?

4,060 Views | 59 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by whoop_99
nereus
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
It does not matter if you play a conference tournament or a weekend series, the last week of the season will always only really matter for bubble teams.
Jimbos christmas tree
Anyone that thinks the conference tourney is boring has not been to the tournament. This is my first time coming to the tourney and the environment is incredible. Every player here wants the trophy and they are all playing very hard for it. The tournament has great baseball, a great venue, and elite competition. I would highly recommend coming to next years tournament.
twk
AG
I've always said that the reason you play a conference tournament is so that the calendar doesn't determine who wins the regular season title, meaning that you don't want teams that have no shot of an NCAA at-large bid using the last month of the season as an extended tryout for next year, and possibly giving one title contender an advantage over another. As bad as Arkansas did against State, they at least went to Starkville with something to play for--without a tournament berth at stake, they would have had no incentive to win beyond pride.
Ferris Wheel Allstar
AG
I love it. I get to watch baseball at 930am when I would otherwise be working
Lance Uppercut
AG
-Seeding, from hosts to national seeds, can be influenced by the tournament

-The games were certainly interesting in 2013 when we needed to get some wins against good teams just to make the NCAA tournament at all.

-There is the occasional run from a lower seeded team in these tournaments who make the NCAA tournament by winning the whole thing, when otherwise they wouldn't have made it at all.