Any WWI Aggies Buried in Paris American Cemetery ?

8,346 Views | 47 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by Rock1982
ag-bq-seventy
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
CanyonAg77 said:

From Rabid Cougar's link. Hmmmm. Fifty-seven. Not 55 as in today's campusology. And if you look at the photo of the West Gate (WWI) memorial, their appear to be only 52 names.

Wonder what the difference is.
When I was a student, there were 52 names, 52 flags, etc.

And for those who say I'm wrong, I have my Fish Handbook to prove it.

Don't know when or how it got changed.
CanyonAg77
AG
Seems like the number morphed to 55 by my time. I don't know if I have an old Cadence, but I can look.
Rabid Cougar
AG
ag-bq-seventy said:

CanyonAg77 said:

From Rabid Cougar's link. Hmmmm. Fifty-seven. Not 55 as in today's campusology. And if you look at the photo of the West Gate (WWI) memorial, their appear to be only 52 names.

When I was a student, there were 52 names, 52 flags, etc.

And for those who say I'm wrong, I have my Fish Handbook to prove it.

Don't know when or how it got changed.
No one says you're wrong. We just have numbers from different sources that are all over the place and we cannot figure out why.
Quad Dog
AG
I remember it being 55. I can imagine the number changing over the years as records change and improve.
BigJim49 AustinNowDallas
AG
1949 Directory of Former Students lists 51 WW1Casualties including Easterwood - all wjth rank and class .

This directory . also . lists WW2 casualties by class and gives info on how they died plus more personal info .
BigJim49 AustinNowDallas
AG
CanyonAg77 said:

Quick perusal of 49 directory:

Not on Longhorn Shield but in directory :

Allison Elmer C. '19

Barfield C '19

Curtis Manson F Pvt '10

Easterwood Jesse L Lt '09

Woodson JM '18

Not in directory but on Lponghorn Shield

Butts, John William

This would be 52 in directory including Butts.

My count on Longhorn Shieldl is 47 - plus the 5 from directory equals 52 !