China Spring adopts 4 day school week

3,579 Views | 12 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by 3rd Generation Ag
BohunkAg
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
https://www.fox44news.com/news/local-news/mclennan-county/china-spring-isd-adopts-4-day-school-week/

I'm not sure this is going to be a good thing when all is said and done. Especially with potential changes coming to education requirements in the current lege session. I think this was very reactionary on their part.
Gigemchicken90
AG
Several schools in our area have gone to a 4-day week, including Rockdale, Rogers & Academy. As a business owner, I am thankful Cameron has not done this. I already have enough employees out when they have the 4-day weekend at the end of almost six weeks.
'90
BohunkAg
AG
It seems to me this will have a trickle down effect as these kids get older and expect to have to be productive only four days out of the week.
c-jags
My SIL is the admin assistant for Superintendent at a Houston Area school and just adopted it. tons of people yelled, but the sup said "we're about to lose teachers. we either do this or don't have enough staff for next year."

i get the pain for parents of young children but this change is coming. not agreeing with it, but it is what it is.
justnobody79
c-jags said:

My SIL is the admin assistant for Superintendent at a Houston Area school and just adopted it. tons of people yelled, but the sup said "we're about to lose teachers. we either do this or don't have enough staff for next year."

i get the pain for parents of young children but this change is coming. not agreeing with it, but it is what it is.
I'm not sure I would want a teacher teaching my kids if he/she was only willing to work 4 days a week
mazzag
AG
It's a way to save money. If Belton ISD was fully employed, which they are not, they'd be in the red. Quote from new CFO.
GIF Reactor
AG
This is for China Spring and not Belton ISD though, correct?
Bulldog73
AG