Attention Coders: Potential career changer looking for advice

5,501 Views | 92 Replies | Last: 8 yr ago by AGSPORTSFAN07
Rodney Dean
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm considering learning to code in order to make a career change, but every bit of research I do leads to more questions. Looking for an Ag in the industry to let me pick their brain.

Quick background: I'm a journalist by training but have spent a decade teaching high school English in Austin. The only programming I've ever attempted was Fortran during a freshman engineering class; however, I'm tech savvy and think I could handle the challenge.

What I'm looking for: Flexibility (maybe telecommuting), more pay, a challenge.

My little bit of research as led me to think web development is where I should look with something like Ruby on Rails. If you work in this or other areas, I would love to ask you some questions.

Please PM me. (Cross posted on Job Network)
Picard
AG
Not to hijack your thread, but I may want to pick your brain as well. I've been thinking about leaving a technical career to teach high school English. I figure that I took four years of English in high school so learning how to teach it at the high school level should be quick and easy. I'm looking for summers off and as little headache as possible.

Mind if I contact you?

Rodney Dean
AG
Sure.
redd38
AG
lol @ this thread
Rodney Dean
AG
Definitely not what I was expecting.
JDCAG (NOT Colin)
AG
I do Ruby on Rails or Node.js for most of my personal projects and use PHP (not by choice) at work with an Ember.js front end (I love Ember).

Feel free to shoot me an e-mail at JDCAG.email at gmail.com - if I don't respond quickly, remind me on this thread as I don't often check that e-mail.

I think Picard's point - and it is a valid one - is that too many people are pretty flippant about picking up coding, like it is just a hobby and it can come across as a bit of an insult to folks that do this professionally.