Job Network
Sponsored by

Teachers leaving the field

8,364 Views | 51 Replies | Last: 1 mo ago by zooguy96
CampingAg
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I don't know any teachers who recommend teaching. Just seems like the industry is in a bleak spot.
Raptor
AG
I'm an administrator (now), but taught for 16 years and would recommend teaching to anyone willing to walk into a career that is truly rewarding IF you're in a school/district that will support you. Make no mistake about it, it's a two way road to be a successful teacher in today's world. Without the support, it can be hard to do your job. Even with the support, you still have to work hard to know every student by name and by need.
This post is for Cretaceous Level Subscribers only.

AustinCountyAg
agree. the town, district, and administrators play a role together in making the profession worth while or not.
classicdoug
AG
Tomorrow is my wife's last day teaching in public schools. She's been a teacher for around 20 years. I'm so glad she is able to escape. She will be in an office at Blinn, and making less, but with Blinn she will still be able to put into TRS. Public schools have a huge problem, and it's only getting worse.
zooguy96
classicdoug said:

Tomorrow is my wife's last day teaching in public schools. She's been a teacher for around 20 years. I'm so glad she is able to escape. She will be in an office at Blinn, and making less, but with Blinn she will still be able to put into TEA. Public schools have a huge problem, and it's only getting worse.

Good for her. She'll be happier. If she has her Masters and some experience, she should be able to teach developmental classes. My wife did that at Austin CC and made decent $$.

I'm still waiting…..
Captain Winky
Well, the two professions that complain the most about their chosen profession are teachers and nurses....
victory
AG
Raptor said: