Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Anyone here had wrist surgery?

521 Views | 6 Replies | Last: 17 days ago by Absolute
TruService HVAC
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Sponsor
As the title would lead on I am getting ready to have wrist surgery and I did not realize the anxiety that would come with it. I am right handed and I'm having my right wrist worked on. I have a tear in the TFC and will be having a ligament transplant as best I can figure out. Dr Gibbs in Bryan is handling the procedure and I've heard good things about him.

I've got two weeks to figure out how I'm going eat, sleep, dress, shower, type, write etc for the 6 weeks I'll be in a cast and then the next three months after that where he has explicitly told me I can do Zero lifting with my right arm.

I am struggling with depression and anxiety right now like I never dreamed I would. I've been a worker my entire life. I started turning wrenches and screw drivers when I was about 6-7 years old. Yeah I have a degree from A&M and I own a marginally successful business and I know my true identity is in Christ but dang if I'm not worried I'll never be able to use my right hand for work again. I'm hoping someone on here has had a similar surgery and can talk some peace into me and if not talk some reality into me and I will start accepting that I need to transition into the boss role more and hands on less.

I guess the blessing in disguise is that it hurts enough daily that I actually sought help and that on its face it appears to be repairable before major arthritis kicks in which I have seen from friends and family is extremely painful.

Thanks for reading

Caleb
Hoosegow
Not wrist but arm surgeries on both arms at different times. The last time was 6 months no lifting with my dominant right hand.