Photo by Rusty Burson, 12th Man Magazine
Texas A&M Football

Heisman Hopefuls: Elite QBs top preseason favorites

August 26, 2013

According to conventional wisdom, Texas A&M sophomore quarterback Johnny Manziel will not win the Heisman Trophy this year because only one person — Ohio State’s Archie Griffin — has won it twice.

Yet, that same conventional wisdom would have said that Manziel could not have won it last year because no freshman ever had.

If Manziel could do something no one had ever done before, should it be such a stretch to think he could do something that’s already been accomplished?

The more reasonable argument against Manziel’s quest for back-to-back Heismans is the wealth of quarterback talent in college football this year, as well as one of the best receivers ever, some great running backs and perhaps a push for the nation’s most intimidating defensive player.
Verify your student status
See Membership Benefits >