Reopening Schools

214,990 Views | 2236 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by AustinAg2K
rojo_ag
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I am a teacher in the Austin area. I'm trying to wrap my head around how we will reopen schools by August. Opening schools is essential to fully reopening our state and country. Is opening in August realistic? Will districts push start dates? I can't imagine that we will return without strict social distancing measures in place. I really want to be in the classroom with my students since distance learning has so many limitations.

What will our new normal in schools look like once we return?

Here is a few thoughts that I have regarding guidelines we may follow.

All students, faculty, and staff must wear masks. (What about elementary students? What do we do with students who do not have masks? Will we have enough to distribute? Will bandannas or other face coverings suffice?)

All students, faculty, and staff will have their temperatures checked before entering. (Where do students with temperatures go? How much of a bottleneck will this create at the beginning of each day?)

Lunches held in classrooms.

Passing periods are staggered to reduce the amount of students in hallways.

Teachers provide hand sanitizer as students enter the classroom. (Is this too excessive? Will campuses have enough?)

Visitors to campus are limited and screened.

No extracurricular activities.

No dressing out for P.E. or athletics

Students have their temperatures checked as they enter the bus in the morning. (Will every bus need a parent or community volunteer to check temperatures?)

More restrictive steps:

• 65+ or people with underlying health conditions not allowed on campus. (Many administrators, teachers, and staff will not be able to work)
  • Students come to school every other day based on their last name. (This will required parents to find or provide child care half of the week).